Site icon Random Scottish History

Headlands, pp.iv-v.

[Gazetteer of Scotland Contents]

   In enumerating the principal capes, promontories, and other headlands, we shall mark in italics those which are the sites of lighthouses, and shall follow the coast-line in the order in which we have just traced it. St. Abb’s-head is in the middle of the coast-line of Berwickshire, and forms the most projecting, bold, and conspicuous piece of sea-board between the liberties of Berwick and the frith of Forth. Fast Castle-head is 3½ miles to the north-west. Barness, Whitberry-head, and Gulane-point, are in Haddingtonshire, – the last on the coast of the frith of Forth. Fifeness, a low, sandy, naked headland, is the termination of the peninsula of Fife. Buddonness, similar to the former, and Red-head, a beetling and bold promontory, are in Forfarshire. Jodhead, Garron-point, Finnonness, and Girdleness, are in Kincardineshire, – the last at the mouth of the Dee, and at the end of a range of the Grampians. Buchanness is the most easterly land in Aberdeenshire, and even in Scotland. Rattray-point, Cairnbulg-head, and Kinnaird-head, are in the same county, – the two last at the entrance of the Moray frith. Knockie-head is in Banffshire. Coulard-hill and Burgh-head are in Elginshire. Tarbetness, the termination of the long narrow peninsula between the Dornoch and the Beauly friths, belongs to Ross-shire. Ord of Caithness, Clytheness, Noss-head, Duncansby-head, Dunnet-head, and Holborn-head, are in Caithness, – the three last looking across the Pentland frith to the Orkney Islands. Strathey-point, Whiten-head, Far-out-head, Cape-Wrath, and Assynt-point, are in Sutherlandshire, – the last on its west coast, and the three first on its north. More-head, or Ru-more, is on the west coast of Cromarty. Udrigal-head, and Rhu-Rea-head, are on the west coast of Ross-shire. Ardnamurchan-point, the most westerly ground on the mainland, – the Mull of Kintyre, at the entrance of the Clyde, and of the Irish channel, – and Lamont-point and Toward-point, the southern terminations on the east and the west of the district of Cowal, on the Clyde, – are in Argyleshire. Clough-point, on the Clyde, is in Renfrewshire. Kirkcolm-point, at the entrance of Loch- Ryan, – Corsewall-point, at the north-west extremity of the Rhinns of Galloway, – and the Mull of Galloway and Burrow-head, at the southern extremities of Scotland, – are in Wigtonshire. Ross-head, between Wigton and Kirkcudbright bays, – Balcarry-point, at the west side of Auchencairn-bay, – Almerness-point, between that bay and the estuary of the Urr, – and Southerness-point, at the extreme south-east of Galloway, – are in Kirkcudbrightshire. 

Exit mobile version